View-only permissions for shared folders

Company

Get early access to view-only permissions for shared folders

By

Published on July 01, 2014

Today we’re excited to give Dropbox for Business customers early access to one of our most commonly requested features for shared folders: view-only permissions. You can now grant shared folder members the ability to view but not edit folder contents.

Sometimes you have a large group of people — like the sales team — who need to view content in a shared folder, but only a few people — like the regional leads — who need to make edits to files. With view-only permissions, everyone has access to the latest version but editors can keep control over content.

Wondersauce, a digital design agency, uses view-only permissions to collaborate better with clients. “It's often helpful to let our clients see work-in-progress files and provide feedback for us along the way, but we're the only ones who need to actually edit the designs. With view-only permissions, we can maintain better control and still make sure our clients are viewing the latest version,” creative director Eric Mayville explains.

Dropbox for Business admins can turn on this new feature for their team in the Admin Console. You can also learn more about how view-only permissions work here. We love hearing from customers, so be sure to send us your feedback through the Admin Console as well.

If you’re not yet a Business customer, start a trial to get immediate access, or sign up here to be notified when we roll out view-only permissions to all Dropbox for Business users.