One of the great things about Dropbox is that you can access your information from almost any device. But what if you’ve lost your phone, misplaced your laptop, or sold your tablet? To protect your information, you can unlink your Dropbox account from that device to prevent it from downloading and syncing your files. Here’s how:
- Sign in to the Dropbox website.
- Click on your name in the top-right menu → Settings → Security.
- In the Devices section, you’ll see every device you currently have linked to your Dropbox. Just click the X next to the device you want to unlink.
Once you’ve unlinked a device, it’ll stop syncing new changes from your Dropbox account.
Note, if the device you’ve unlinked is a computer, previously synced files remain untouched. But if you’re a Dropbox Pro or Dropbox for Business user, you can choose to remotely erase, or wipe, your Dropbox files from the computer. When you unlink a mobile device, files will automatically be removed even if they had been favorited for offline access.
For more information, here are additional tips to help you protect your Dropbox. Have questions? Let us know in the comments below.
This post is part of our National Cybersecurity Awareness Month blog series, where we're sharing simple steps you can take to protect your accounts. We encourage everyone to be proactive about their security online.
Try our security checkup tool today